top of page

Trolls and frogs


I had a quiet spell after Open Studios, work was busy (the paid work that is), and I didn't feel ready to start anything new. I had a couple of ideas on the boil but nothing really grabbed me. Then I saw a photo that my son and son-in-law had taken in Iceland.

It was of a rock formation in an area of Thorsmork called "Trollakirjka" or Troll Church. It was obviously a Troll, probably asleep, pretending to be a lump of rock. I was instantly inspired, and knew I had my next project - I was going to bring the troll to life.

The face was already there, I just had to accentuate the features and use the greenery as a moustache and beard. I added red eyes - to show he was now awake, and put in a bird. My North America landscapes have an eagle but I felt a raven was more appropriate here - Huginn or Muninn perhaps.

I had tremendous fun with this, and it started my creative juices flowing again. The troll was followed by 2 more in the wall-art series, colourful tree frogs "Blue eyes" and "Black eyes".

It reinforced my belief that creativity can't be forced. I just have to wait for the right project to come along and then go with the flow.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page